Concealed Weapon

userway ADA
*Effective November 1, 2023, all CBI fees will be paid directly to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office.

NEW CONCEALED WEAPONS APPLICATION
Most citizens find that their specific needs for carrying a concealed handgun while in their home, business or private vehicle fall within the current law without needing a permit. If you would like to carry a concealed handgun on your person (for example, in your pocket, purse, coat, etc.) you will need to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
  • Applications are accepted Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., at the Sheriff’s Office main location, 885 E. Chambers Ave in Eagle. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
  • Applicants can expect the process to take 20 - 30 minutes per person as fingerprinting and a photo is required for each application.
  • Concealed Weapons Permit Application
BASIC REQUIREMENTS

  • Be at least 21 years of age. (18 years of age for a temporary emergency permit)
  • Reside or own property, or own or lease real property for a business in Eagle County, or be a member of the armed forces and stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this state.
  • Provide proof of residency by submitting a copy of a valid Colorado driver's license or valid Colorado or military photo identification. If the address on identification is not correct, you must provide another proof of address (i.e. utility bill, mortgage statement, bank statement, etc.). Per C.R.S. 42-2-119, you have 30 days to notify the Department of Motor Vehicle of an address or name change.
  • Pass a background check. The purpose of the background check is to determine if all required paperwork was submitted, and whether the applicant meets all criteria specified in C.R.S. 18-12-203. Regardless of whether the applicant meets the criteria specified, if the sheriff has a reasonable belief that documented previous behavior by the applicant makes it likely the applicant will present a danger to self or others, the sheriff may deny the permit.
  • Pay two non-refundable processing fees to cover the costs associated with fingerprinting and background checks. These fees are due upon submission of the completed application.
  • Demonstrate competence with a handgun by submitting a copy of an acceptable ‘in-person’ firearms safety and proficiency training course certification. A certificate of completion must be provided without exception.
FEES & DOCUMENTATION


In addition to the completed application form, you must submit:
  • The $52.50 processing fee for the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) is payable to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office (ECSO). *Effective November 1, 2023, all CBI fees will be paid directly to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office.* This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check. A background check is required for all regular civilian applicants.
  • A $100 processing fee in the form of a cashier’s check, money order, or cash, made payable to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. This fee pays for forms, ID cards, local criminal history checks, and administrative costs.
  • Proof of residency. (Colorado driver’s license, Colorado ID card or Military ID card and duty orders)
  • Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in section 18-12-203 (1) (h) of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
  • Two completed fingerprint cards ($15 fee, payable to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office). It is required that all applicants be fingerprinted to conduct a thorough background investigation and comply with state laws.
  • Fingerprints and photographs may be taken at the time of application.
RENEWAL APPLICATIONS

All renewals require the following fees and all pages of the CHP application to be completed. Allow 90 days for renewals as you cannot carry until you receive your new, updated permit.
  • The $13.00 processing fee for the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) is payable to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office (ECSO). *Effective November 1, 2023, all CBI fees will be paid directly to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office.* This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check, and an ‘instacheck’ (NICS) per statute.
  • A 25.00 processing fee in the form of cash, or check (personal, cashier’s, or money order) made out to Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. This fee pays for forms, permit card, local criminal history checks, and other administrative costs.
  • Proof of Residency. Valid Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID card, or Duty Orders indicating residency in Eagle County.
  • Photograph. The Sheriff’s Office will take, and maintain the photograph of the applicant.
  • Renewal applicants are able to renew their permit 4 months prior to the expiration of their current permit.
  • Applicants can expect the process to take 15 - 20 minutes per person as a new photo is required for each application.
EXPIRED CHP RENEWAL PROCESS

If expired less than 4 months:
  • The $13.00 processing fee for the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) is payable to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office (ECSO). *Effective November 1, 2023, all CBI fees will be paid directly to the Eagle County Sheriff's Office.* This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check, and an ‘instacheck’ (NICS) per statute.
  • A $40.00 processing fee in the form of cash, or check (personal, cashier’s, or money order) made out to Eagle County Sheriff’s Office. This fee pays for forms, permit card, local criminal history checks, and other administrative costs.
  • Proof of Residency. Valid Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID card, or Duty Orders indicating residency in Eagle County.
  • Photograph. The Sheriff’s Office will take, and maintain the photograph of the applicant.
If your permit has expired more than 4 months, refer to the New Application process.

ADDRESS CHANGES

Changes of Address within the State of Colorado:
  • Staying in Eagle County or moving to another county within the State of Colorado?
  • You must fill out and provide to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office the Address/Name Change Form.
  • (If your permit was issued by a different county, you must change your address with that county agency– not Eagle County.)
  • The form does NOT need to be notarized for a change of address. No new card will be issued.
Changes of Address outside the State of Colorado:
  • If you move out-of-state, you must fill out and provide to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office the Address/Name Change Form and return the form –with your permit– to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office.
  • Your permit will be invalid once you become a resident of a different state by obtaining that state’s driver’s license.
  • The form does NOT need to be notarized for a change of address
NAME CHANGE / LOST PERMIT

Name Change:
  • If your name has changed, you must fill out and provide to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office the Address/Name Change Form and attach a copy of the certified court order or marriage certificate showing that your name has changed.
  • The form MUST be notarized if it is used for a name change.
  • A new permit WILL BE issued for a name change.
Lost or Destroyed Permit:
  • Lost or destroyed permits can be replaced or reprinted for a $15 fee by completing the Address Change/Permit Lost or Destroyed Form
  • A new replacement permit will be issued/reprinted once the form and fee have been collected.
  • Completed forms can be returned ‘in-person’ to the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office for a permit to be reprinted.
  • Questions? Please call the Concealed Weapons Coordinator at (970) 328-8511
CONTACT US

You can email, fax, mail, or bring us your Concealed Weapons form in person. (Applications and Renewals can only be completed in person.) Office Hours are: Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (closed on federally observed holidays)
  • Email: info@sheriff.eagle.co.us
  • Fax: 970-328-1448
  • Call: 970-328-8500 x3
  • Mail: ECSO Attn: CCW, P.O. Box 359, Eagle, CO. 81631
  • In-person: 0885 E. Chambers Ave, Eagle, CO 81631
Concealed Weapon Permit Application
ecg tv